In accordance with Section 192 (1) of the Municipal Government Act 2000 Chapter M-26, the Organizational Meeting of the Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61 was held in the Council Chambers in the Municipal Administration Building in Wainwright, Alberta on Monday, October 29, 2007 commencing at 9:00 a.m.

Present: Councillors Oscar Buck, Ted Wilkinson, Myron Zajic, Phil Valleau, Morley Muldoon, Shelly Andersen and Bob Barss; also, Municipal Administrator Kelly Buchinski and Assistant Municipal Administrator Bonnie Milton.

The Administrator called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

All Councillors took the Official Oath of Office.

The Administrator called for nominations for the Office of Reeve. Clr. Zajic nominated Clr. Barss The Administrator called for nominations for the second time and a third and final time for the Office of Reeve.

455.07 Moved by Clr. Buck that nominations cease. <u>CARRIED</u>

Clr. Barss was declared elected as Reeve for 2007/2008 and took the Official Oath of Office.

Reeve Barss welcomed the new Councillors and the returning Councillors and thanked the Councillors and staff for their teamwork and dedication to the municipality.

Reeve Barss assumed the Chair and called for nominations for the Office of Deputy Reeve. Clr. Valleau nominated Clr. Zajic. The Reeve called for nominations for the second time for the Office of Deputy Reeve.

456.07 Moved by Clr. Wilkinson that nominations cease. CARRIED

Clr. Zajic was declared elected as Deputy Reeve for 2007/2008 and took the Official Oath of Office.

457.07 Moved by Clr. Wilkinson that the Signing Officials for the Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61 be the Reeve or Deputy Reeve, together with the Administrator Kelly Buchinski or the Assistant Municipal Administrator Bonnie Milton. <u>CARRIED</u>

Reeve Barss declared that he may have an interest in the next item since his wife is employed at the ATB Financial in Wainwright and left the Council Chambers. (9:17 a.m.)

458.07 Moved by Clr. Muldoon that this municipality utilize the banking facilities offered by the ATB Financial in Wainwright. <u>CARRIED</u>

Reeve Barss returned to the Council Chambers. (9:18 a.m.)

459.07 Moved by Clr. Zajic that the regular meetings of Council of the Municipal District of Wainwright be held in the Council Chambers of the Municipal Administration Building in Wainwright on the third Tuesday of every month, commencing at 9:00 a.m. <u>CARRIED</u>

A copy of the Municipal Government Act, Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, and Chapter M-26 Current as of June 24th, 2007 was distributed to each Councillor and the Reeve.

460.07 Moved by Clr. Buck that the attached 2007/2008 organizational committee lists be accepted as discussed. <u>CARRIED</u>

AGRICULTURAL SERVICE BOARD

461.07 Moved by Clr. Zajic that the Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61 appoint farm members to the Agricultural Service Board on a three (3) year rotation consisting of Dennis Leggett having two (2) years remaining and Keith Brower having one (1) year remaining and Carla White is appointed as a new farm member. CARRIED

DEVELOPMENT

- 462.07 Moved by Clr. Zajic that the appointments listed below be comprised as follows for the 2007/08 term:
 - Subdivision and Development Appeal Board/Weed Act Notice Appeal Board – public members John Fleming, Raymond Pare, Dianne Olson, Jim Kent and Rene Rajotte. (Secretary to be determined)
 - Intermunicipal Development Committee Michelle Schneider
 - Municipal Planning Commission Public members Rod Arthur and Gerry Schapansky.

CARRIED

RECREATION AND COMMUNITY SERVICES

Chauvin Rural Recreation Area Board & Edgerton Rural Recreation Area Board's Members to be determined at the next Council meeting.

- 463.07 Moved by Clr. Andersen that appointments listed below be comprised as follows for the 2007/08 term:
 - Wainwright Rural Recreation Area Board members Jodi Fletcher, Bernie Buzik and Nicole Sandberg
 - Irma Rural Recreation Area Board –members Steven Raasok and Deb Oracheski

<u>CARRIED</u>

PROTECTION TO PERSONS & PROPERTY

- 464.07 Moved by Clr. Zajic that the appointments listed below be comprised as follows for the 2007/08 term:
 - Edgerton Fire Area Board –Rural Representatives Wayne Leskow and Gary McAfee
 - Irma Fire Area Board Rural Representatives Ron Prior, Greg Fischer, Ray Tomlinson and Almon Archibald

<u>CARRIED</u>

465.07 Moved by Clr. Buck this meeting is adjourned. <u>CARRIED</u> (10:10 a.m.)

Reeve

Municipal Administrator

Assistant Municipal Administrator

(1/2 day)